Seasonal Measures: Brown Marmorated Stink Bug (BMSB)

Seasonal Measures: Brown Marmorated Stink Bug (BMSB) 

It is important to acknowledge the dates of the BMSB seasonal measures listed below, that are still being applied to commercial cargo and other imported goods that arrive in Australian territory by 31 May, 2021. BMSB is a significant threat to Australia’s $12 billion horticulture industries because of the damage it can cause to vegetable crops, fruit and ornamental trees. It is also considered a social amenity pest due to their habit of seeking shelter in large numbers in houses, factories and machinery over winter.

“In response to the rapid expansion of BMSB throughout Europe and North America, the department has retained the seasonal measures to manage the risk of BMSB from arriving in Australia for the 2020–21 BMSB risk season. The department has used a range of scientific, intelligence and evidence-based information when setting the measures, including data collected from the 2019-20 BMSB season onshore verification activities.

The department has also worked closely with the New Zealand Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI) on the 2020-21 measures to ensure both Australia and New Zealand’s BMSB seasonal measures are consistent across the two countries (where possible).

For the 2020-21 BMSB risk season, heightened biosecurity measures will apply to:

• Certain goods manufactured in, or shipped from target risk countries, and/or
• Vessels that berth at, load or tranship from target risk countries.

The measures apply to goods shipped from 1 September 2020 that arrive in Australian territory by 31 May 2021 (inclusive).

Goods shipped between 1 September 2020 and 30 April 2021 need to be treated and will be referred for intervention if they arrive by 31 May 2021 (inclusive).

As with previous BMSB risk seasons, you must comply with these measures. Throughout the season, we will continue to review these measures based on detections of BMSB and the risk pathways and make any necessary adjustments” (

The following countries below have been categorised as target risk:
• Albania
• Andorra
• Armenia
• Austria
• Azerbaijan
• Belgium
• Bosnia and Herzegovina
• Bulgaria
• Canada
• Croatia
• Czechia
• France
• Japan (heightened vessel surveillance will be the only measure applied).
• Georgia
• Germany
• Greece
• Hungary
• Italy
• Kazakhstan
• Kosovo
• Liechtenstein
• Luxembourg
• Montenegro
• Moldova
• Netherlands
• Portugal
• Republic of North Macedonia
• Romania
• Russia
• Serbia
• Slovakia
• Slovenia
• Spain
• Switzerland
• Turkey
• Ukraine
• United States of America